This function prevents writing to the system disk.
By enabling the Write Filter, you can prevent damage to the system disk and shortened life of disk due to excessive writes. Also, enabling the Write Filter allows you to turn off the power to this product without shutting it down. However, the write operation can occur right after restarting the product, even if the Write Filter is enabled, due to a characteristic of Windows®. Do not turn off this product right after restarting it.
Default: Off (Disable)
When only one volume is set to the Write Filter, the screen displays just that one volume.
When changing settings (such as settings in the Launcher, RAID, and when adding drivers, changing the registry, or installing applications), disable the Write Filter. If the Write Filter is enabled, any changes to settings will be erased when the operating system is restarted. After changes to settings are complete, we recommend that you re-enable the Write Filter.
If the Write Filter is enabled, the fast startup function is disabled.
Regardless of the Write Filter setting, do not turn off the power immediately after turning on the product.
Failure to follow these instructions can result in injury or equipment damage.
LOSS OF DATA
Do not turn off the power while writing to a storage device that is not protected by the Write Filter.
Failure to follow these instructions can result in equipment damage.